Why is Passport Mandatory?

An Indian passport is an officially-issued document that allows the holder to travel to and from foreign countries. It also confirms that the holder is a citizen of the issuing country. It also serves as a reliable identity card of the holder. A passport is one of the most important document/cards. Passport is one of the most trustable sources of identification. If you wish to fly overseas, you cannot go without a passport. It is important to have a passport if you plan to travel to a different country. The Indian passport is issued to every citizen who wishes to travel abroad.  It helps you will be able to prove who you are and where you are from. Because travel security measures have increased, it is almost impossible to travel without a passport.

According to the state department, the quickest you can get the passport is within 8 business days. Even if you do not wish to go abroad anytime soon, you still shall have a passport ready beforehand So that you can pick up and go in a pinch. According to the Passports Act, 1967, Passport is issued by the Indian Government and it certifies that holders are citizens of the Republic of India by birth. The CPV (Consular Passport & Visa) Division of the External Affairs Ministry works as central passport organization and it is also responsible for Indian passport issuance. There are across 37 different locations across the country where passports are issued.

Indian Passport

Indian Passports

There are 162 diplomatic missions abroad where Indian Passport is issued. These include consulates, High Commissions and Embassies. Passport is necessary if you wish to travel outside the country as the only passport serves as the person or the holder’s identity. Passport’s main purpose is to make the holder of it travel to and from the issuing country. Since it has all the correct personal details about the person or the holder too, it can be treated as his / her identity card as well. The passport certifies the citizenship of the person or the holder in whose name the passport is issued. It is one of the biggest proofs of one’s identity and citizenship issued by the government of India. For travelling abroad, it overrides all other documents.

Indian Passport

There are 4 types of passports

  1. Type P / Ordinary passport- ‘P’ denotes ‘Personal’. It has a dark blue cover. These are Ordinary passports issued to ordinary individuals, they are also treated as general purpose passports as these passports are used by the citizens of a country normally use for travel on holiday or business.
  2. Type S / Official passport- ‘S’ denotes ‘Service’. It has a white cover. These are Official passports issued to people travelling abroad on official government/state work.
  3. Type D / Diplomatic passport – ‘D’ denotes ‘Diplomat’. It has a maroon cover. These are Diplomatic passports issued to people who always travel on official government work including those posted abroad.
  4. Hajji passport- Issued to Indian Muslims not holding an ordinary passport. These are primarily for Hajj pilgrimage

These are 4 types of passports that have different meaning and purposes. But all the four have nearly the same function that is of travelling abroad. It has about 32-60 pages. It keeps the record of all the country holder visits. These pages are filled with the name of the country and place where he visits. As you can see even the high-ranking officials cannot travel or visit outside the country without the passport. Each and every citizen of the country has to have a passport in order to go aboard. This makes the passport mandatory while moving, travelling, visiting abroad for the official or personal purpose.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top