SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern Detail You Might Want to Know

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern:

The Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Examination is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) for recruitment of candidates to Grade B and C in the various government offices, departments, and ministries. The SSC CGL exam is held in 4 tiers/ stages. The SSC CGL Tier 1 exam pattern will help candidates take the first plunge in a systematic manner.

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern
SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern

Here are the details of the SSC CGL Tier 1 exam pattern:

Date of release of notification: 22nd October 2019

Date of start of registration of application: 22nd October 2019

Last date to submit completed application: 25th November 2019

Date of SSC CGL Tier 1 exam: 2nd to 11th March 2020

Date of SSC CGL Tier 2 and 3 exam: 22nd to 25th March 2020

The SSC CGL exam comprises of 4 tiers/ stages. These include the following:

  • Tier 1
  • Tier 2
  • Tier 3
  • Tier 4

The first two are computer-based objective online examinations while the latter 2 are pen and paper-based descriptive examination.

SSC CGL Tier 1 exam pattern:

  • The SSC CGL Tier 1 exam is a computer-based online examination.
  • The exam consists of MCQ (multiple choice objective questions).
  • The exam comprises of 4 sections which include general intelligence and reasoning, general awareness, quantitative aptitude, and English comprehension. 
  • The total number of questions asked is 100.
  • The total weightage of the Tier 1 exam is 200 marks.
  • The marking scheme includes negative marking and is as follows:
  • Correct answer: +2 marks
  • Incorrect answer: – 0.25 marks
  • The duration of the exam is 1 hour or 60 minutes.
  • The time for visually handicapped and candidates suffering from cerebral palsy is 1 hour 20 minutes or 80 minutes.
Serial No. Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
1 General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 A cumulative time of 60 minutes
2 General Awareness 25 50
3 Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
4 English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200

 For any other details regarding the SSC CGL Tier 1 exam pattern check the website .

Also read:

Voted Thanks!