IRDA Exam Pattern Details You Might Want to know About

IRDA Exam Pattern:

The Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India popularly known as IRDA, governs and regulates the operations of the many general insurance and life insurance companies in India. The Government of India established the IRDA with the aim to safeguard the interest of customers who have invested in the insurance sector by means of general insurance and life insurance covers. IRDA has released a notification regarding recruitment of eligible candidates for various posts. The IRDA exam pattern helps candidates in the preparation of the IRDA recruitment exam.

IRDA Exam Pattern
IRDA Exam Pattern

Here are the details of the IRDA exam pattern:

The IRDA exam is a national level exam conducted to recruit eligible candidates to various post which include the following:

  • Assistant Manager
  • Manager (Grade B)
  • Assistant General Manager (Grade C)
  • Deputy General Manager (Grade D)
  • General Manager (Grade E)

Eligibility criteria:

  • The candidate must be at least 21 years and must not exceed 30 years of age.
  • Age relaxation is as per the guidelines laid down by the Government of India. This is as follows:
  • SC/ ST: 5 years
  • OBC: 3 years
  • PwD: 10 years
  • The candidate must possess a bachelor’s degree with a minimum 60% marks in aggregate.

IRDA exam pattern:

  • The IRDA exam comprises of 3 stages, which include the following:
  • Preliminary exam
  • Mains exam
  • Interview

Preliminary exam

  • The prelims are a computer based online examination.
  • The exam consists of multiple choice objective questions.
  • The medium of the exam is Hindi/ English.
  • The candidate must qualify in each section and overall as per the cut off decided by IRDA.
Sections Number of Questions Marks Time
Reasoning 40 each section 40 90 minutes
English Language 40
Quantitative Aptitude 40
General Awareness 40
Total 160 160
  • The preliminary exams are qualifying in nature.
  • The marking scheme includes negative marking.
  • Incorrect answer: -0.25 marks will be deducted.

Mains Exam

  • The mains exam is a pen and paper based offline examination.
  • The exam consists of descriptive/ subjective questions.
  • The exam consists of 3 sections.
Sections Maximum Marks Duration
English 100 each section 60 minutes each section
Economic and Social Issues impacting insurance
Insurance and Management
Total 300 3 hours
  • The marks secured in the mains exam help to determine the overall merit of the candidate.
  • Those candidates who qualify in the mains exam are called for an interview.

For any further details or queries regarding IRDA exam pattern check the website at or .

Also Read:

Voted Thanks!