HCS Exam Pattern Detail You Might Want to Know About

HCS Exam Pattern:

The Haryana Public Service Commission is responsible for conducting the Haryana Civil services examination. The HCS notification has been released on the HPSC website. The HCS exam pattern is a must for the systematic preparation of the exam.

HCS Exam Pattern
HCS Exam Pattern

Date of start of registration of application: July 2020

Last date to submit completed application: August 2020

Application fee:

Category Application fee
General category candidates male including Dependent Son of Ex-Serviceman of Haryana/ Male candidates of General Category and all reserved categories of other states  1000/-
For all Females candidates of General category including Female Dependents of ESM of Haryana only/ Female candidates of General category and all reserved categories of other  States 250/-
For Male & Female candidates of SC/ BC-A/ BC -B/ ESM categories of Haryana only. 250/-
For all PwD category candidates (with at least 40% disability) of Haryana only No application fee

The HCS exam is conducted in 3 phases, these include the following:

  • Preliminary exam
  • Main exam
  • Personality test/ interview

HCS Exam pattern:

Preliminary exam:

  • The exam is a pen and pare based offline examination.
  • The exam consists of multiple choice objective questions.
  • The candidate is provided with an OMR sheet to mark the answers to the questions asked.
  • The exam consists of 2 papers which include:
  • General Studies 1
  • CSAT
  • The total duration for the exam is 2 hours/ 120 minutes for each paper.
  • The total number of questions asked are 100 per paper.
  • The total weightage of the exam is 100 marks each.
  • The marking scheme is as follows:
  • Correct answer: + 1 mark
  • Incorrect answer: – 0.25 marks will be deducted
Subject No. of Questions Total Marks Duration
General Studies 100 100 2 hours
General Aptitude 100 100 2 hours
Total 200 200 4 hours

Main exam:

  • The main exam is a pen and paper based offline examination.
  • The exam consists of subjective and descriptive questions.
  • The exam consists of 5 papers, which include the following:
  • English and English essay
  • Hindi and Hindi Essay
  • General studies
  • Optional subject 1
  • Optional subject 2
  • The duration of the exam is 3 hours each.
  • The total weightage of the exam is 600 marks.
Subject Name Duration Marks
Paper 1: English ( including English Essay) 3 Hours 100
Paper 2: Hindi ( including Hindi Essay in Devanagari Script) 3 Hours 100
Paper 3: General Studies 3 Hours 100
Paper 4: General Studies – IV & V: Two optional Subjects to be selected from the list. 3 Hours 300 (150*2)
Total 600 Marks
  • The candidates who secure merit in the main exam are called for personality test.

For any further details regarding HCS exam pattern check the website at http://hpsc.gov.in/ .

Also Read: https://www.theindianexpert.com/bitsat-exam-pattern-3/

Voted Thanks!